My list of Coolness Blog











{July 31, 2009}   Cool finds Friday

Sorry, my post is late…again! I set my alarm for 7 am and so, of course that means I got up at 1 o’clock in the afternoon! And then I spent a couple hours catching up with emails.

Here’s my coolest finds of the week:

  • Coolest music: A good week for music! I’m seriously into Yacht. You can still get their album for only $5.99 on Itunes and see a video for Psychic City. Also The Arctic Monkeys streamed a live performance of new songs from their upcoming album ‘Humbug’ due out Aug. 25. I’m also planning to see Super Moth Black Rainbow tomorrow night. Check out a few tunes on Myspace
  • Coolest book: Classic novels being re-imagined as graphic novels is perhaps the coolest idea ever! I am in love with graphic novels. Fahrenheit 451 is being turned into a graphic novel. I can’t wait to get my hands on it.
  • Coolest TV: I’m really into the Travel channel’s Bite Me with Dr. Mike on Tuesdays @ 10pm. I love what he does in the name of science research and good tv. Last week I watched him eat knowingly the organism that turns into a tapeworm and then subsequently watching what it turned into was crazy fun. Follow him on twitter. Also, a cancelled show, but a great one The Middleman came out on DVD this week. Definitely check them out! Also BBC show Spaced (with my celebrity crush Simon Pegg) is now on Hulu as is my favorite show as a kid She-Ra!!!
  • Coolest movies: Hmm. I’m torn between checking out 500 Days of Summer or Funny People – both are getting mixed reviews. And I still haven’t seen The Hurt Locker, which is supposed to be amazing. But I might just sit home and catch up on my Netfix viewing. The Coolest movie news by far this week: Tim Burton and Johnny Depp are bringing former TV show Dark Shadows to the big screen.
  • Coolest news of the week: Is actually the hottest. The West coast is in the middle of a dreadful heatwave. It’s even too hot for the Smash Comics characters

And finally, a special note to Tori Amos fans: Thanks to all of you who read my Tori Amos concert review. I had lots of fun writing it! I am overwhelmed by the support of Tori Amos fans. Nearly 200 people checked out my twitter review. Thanks for the love. And so here’s Tori’s performance of Silent All These Years and Maybe, California from her stop in Atlanta this week.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
