My list of Coolness Blog











{August 5, 2009}   Wednesday Notes

I can’t remember the last MTV Video Music Awards I watched – it may have been the year of Kurt Cobain’s death, so that’ll be since 1995 I have been VMA less. Will this year be the year MTV whoos me back? VMA movie award nominations came out yesterday. Here’s the full list. (I’m having issues with MTV. I used to love it and now I’m wondering if MTV was always this into popular music versus good music. I thought it was so hip and cool, have I just grown out of MTV or has it changed? What do you guys think?)

  • Speaking of the VMAs, of which Russel Brand is a host of, Jarvis Cocker is writing music for Brand’s Forgetting Sarah Marshall spin-off
  • Speaking of popular pop culture: Sorry American Idol fans, it’s official no Paula Abdul next season.
  • Speaking of activism, have you heard Pearl Jam’s new singleThe Fixer?
  • Have you seen The Hurt Locker yet? Me neither. I’m not big into war movies, but this one’s supposed to be really good. Catch up with the movie’s star Jeremy Renner
  • And while we’re on the subject, I think it maybe  too soon for Iraq War satire?
  • The Miami Herald’s movie critic Rene Rodriguez really liked Quentin Tarantino and Brad Pitt‘s new flick Inglorious Basterds
  • Paste Magazine ranks U2‘s best songs
  • And guess who was also excluded from the SBTB reunion
  • Adult nursing? Weeds WTF????
  • And with all this negative energy of my news post today how about some positive stuff. Slate gives us the healing power of death metal…how sweet!

And finally, it’s been a good week so far for music videos – and I thought the medium was dead. Here’s two new videos:

  • The first is from Weird Al Yankovic
Leave a Reply

et cetera
