My list of Coolness Blog











{August 7, 2009}   Cool Finds Friday

Hi everybody. Well we made it through another week and now it’s time for me to take stock of my week and pick the coolest things from my week.

  • Coolest Music: I had a very emotional week, so despite all the great music streaming online, I tending to do what I always do in an emotional crisis: turn to Tori Amos. So I’ve been rocking her music most of the week,but Radiohead‘s new song ‘Harry Patch: In Memory of‘ is probably the coolest music out this week, but last night I was in class and my teacher started playing music from Thievery Corporation. Have you heard of them? I instantly fell in love and downloaded all their music. Check them out!
  • Coolest books: Tons of books I didn’t have time to mention this week. Death Metal Manga: Detroit Metal City, 3-part series about a guy that wanted to be in a pop band and ended up playing death metal. I’m also into learning about death metal into Precious Metal: Decibel Presents the Stories Behind 25 Extreme Metal Masterpieces Edited by Albert Mudrian. Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall, by Kazuo Ishiguro which  “explores love, music and the passage of time…[and] “the struggle to restoke life’s romance, even as relationships flounder and youthful hopes recede.” I also came across the Oishinbo manga series. Manga that teaches you all about Japanese food. Could there be anything better? I’ve also been meaning to mention these graphic novels, but thankfully Pop Candy got to it first. And finally, how can I leave out A Cultural Dictionary of Punk by Nicholas Rombes.
  • Coolest Movies: Tons of documentaries floating around the internet this week. There’s the John Lennon one. There was Iraq War sarcasm and It Might Get Loud, in theaters in NY and LA Aug. 14 (it looks like Aug. 28 in more cities). The movie follows Jack White, The Edge and Jimmy Page talking and playing music. And also The Cove (opening in select cities today Aug. 7) is getting some buzz. It’s the true story about uncovering who’s killing dolphins in a secret cove in Japan. Also, finally, also out today, The Paper Heart about the adorable Charlyne Yi in love. I’m in love with her! See if the movie is opening in your area today. And Julie & Julia opens today, which is getting mixed reviews, but I enjoyed it. The NY Times liked it and said it’s, “a Hollywood movie about women that is not about the desperate pursuit of men.” I like it. NPR wonders if you can poach an egg like Julia Child.
  • Coolest TV: I’m in love with Kat Von Di of LA ink
  • Coolest internet articles: I don’t know if these are the coolest, but my emotional week sort of surrounded feeling lonely, so I found these articles helpful and amusing. First, how much time do men spend staring at women per year? Also, 10 guys you should NEVER date (thnx @TraciRai) I think I’ve dated them all. And finally, maybe the reason I haven’t found love is because of my karma.

What did I miss? Let me know

Nick says:

Thanks for the shout-out re: A Cultural Dictionary of Punk. Glad you liked it–it was terrifically fun to write!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
